PUBLISHED: 4:11 PM on Wednesday, October 3, 2007
State allocates Homeland Security Grant Program funds
FORT RICHARDSON - The Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, under the Department of Military and Veterans Affairs, today allocated more than $7 million to Alaska communities through the 2007 Homeland Security Grant Program. The jurisdiction applications included funding requests under four programs: the State Homeland Security Program, Law Enforcement Terrorism Prevention Program, Citizen Corps Program and Metropolitan Medical Response System. As the State Administering Agency, the Division managed an interagency review committee that recommended allocations for the Alaska jurisdiction awards after the initial U.S. Department of Homeland Security grant announcement July 18.

"These grant awards provide opportunities for our local governments to pursue programs improving the safety and security of Alaskans," said John Madden, director of the Alaska Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management. "Local officials are in the best position to make decisions for the good of their citizens."

Following is a list of the program funding totals for each jurisdiction: Municipality of Anchorage, $2,261,745.91; Bethel, $104,271.18; Craig, $45,000; Dillingham, $74,635.99; Fairbanks North Star Borough, $633,604; Fairbanks, $557,236; Homer, $40,000; Juneau, City and Borough, $485,645; Kenai Peninsula Borough, $56,462; Kenai, $301,640; Ketchikan, $30,000; Kodiak; $25,000; Mat-Su Borough, $366,054; Nome, $17,500; North Pole, $44,675.60; North Slope Borough; $14,310.82; Northwest Arctic Borough, $115,538.90; Petersburg, $6,000; Seward, $204,440; Sitka, City and Borough, $230,982.14; Municipality of Skagway, $57,021.46; Unalaska, $55,000; Valdez, $49,785; and Wrangell, $77,456.