PUBLISHED: 5:08 PM on Tuesday, August 29, 2006
Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services seeks nominees for Governor's annual awards
The Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services is seeking nominations to recognize real-life Alaskan heroes. Each year the Council recognizes individuals who have shown commitment and dedication to providing emergency medical services in Alaska .

"We're asking for nominations of heroic Alaskans for the 29th Governor's Annual Awards for Emergency Medical Services," Council chair Barbara Simonsen said.

"We want to publicly recognize and honor their heroism."

The statewide awards program recognizes Alaskans who have saved lives or reduced injuries to fellow Alaskans through heroic or meritorious service, who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of emergency medical services, or who have taken exemplary action during an emergency.

The action or service should have occurred between Aug. 1, 2005 , and Aug. 1, 2006 .

Award categories include: Heroic Citizen, EMS Provider, EMS Administrator, EMS Educator, Physician, Nurse, and Outstanding Ambulance Service.

The awards are sponsored by the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services , the Department of Health and Social Services, and the Office of the Governor.

Nominations will be reviewed by the Alaska Council on Emergency Medical Services. T he award-winners will be announced at the opening session of the state EMS Symposium on Friday, November 10th.

The awards banquet and presentation will occur Saturday, November 11, 2006 beginning at 8:00 p.m. at the Egan Convention Center in Anchorage .

Submit nominations by mail to: EMS Awards, Injury Prevention and EMS Section, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, P.O. Box 110616 , Juneau , AK 99811-0616 or by fax to EMS Awards, (907) 465-4101. Nominations must be received by Friday, Sept. 1.

Further information about the award criteria, procedures, and application forms can be found at the DHSS EMS Web site at or by contacting Shelley K. Owens at 465-3028 or e-mail