PUBLISHED: 2:23 PM on Wednesday, July 20, 2005
Austin Seminary announces Jean Brown Scholars
Laura Hudson of the First Presbyterian Church in Sitka, Alaska is one of four recipients of the Jean Brown Scholarship from Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary. The Jean Brown Scholarships are awarded annually to Master of Divinity degree applicants that demonstrate exceptional academic achievement, leadership ability, and interest in and strong promise vocationally for leadership in the church.

Faculty selects up to four recipients for each entering class.

"There was an unusually strong group of candidates for the awards this year," said The Reverend Dr. Lewis R. Donelson, chair of the admissions committee and the Ruth A. Campbell Professor of New Testament at Austin Seminary. "We think these awards are important because they represent the Seminary's commitment to academic quality."