PUBLISHED: 4:47 PM on Wednesday, July 9, 2008
State chamber solicits award nominations
JUNEAU - The Alaska State Chamber of Commerce is soliciting nominations for its prestigious annual awards. The awards are the Local Chamber of the Year, the William A. Egan Outstanding Alaskan of the Year, and the Bill Bivin Small Business of the Year.

Presentations of the awards will be made September 17, 2008 at the Chamber's 49th Annual Convention and Business Trade Show in Fairbanks.

The Alaska Chamber of the Year award is bestowed upon an Alaskan chamber for consistent community involvement and an excellent business reputation.

The Celebrated and prestigious William A. Egan award is given to individuals who have made substantial and continual contributions of statewide significance while working in the private sector. Each year, nominations are kept strictly confidential and the selection is made with voting by all past chairs of the Alaska State Chamber of Commerce. The recipients of the Outstanding Alaskan of the Year form an impressive list of Alaskan "Who's Who" and dates back to its first honoree in 1964.

The Bill Bivin award, established in 1993, pays tribute to businesses that exemplify leadership, ethics and organization. The business is recognized for consistent community involvement, an excellent business reputation and established leadership in their fields.

The nomination packet is online at the Alaska State Chamber web site,

Deadline for submitting applications is the close of business on August 1, 2008.