Health
SITKA - The SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) Health Promotion, Diabetes and Lifestyle Balance programs is looking for community partners for "Just Move It" activities on Saturday, Oct. 10, in several communities throughout Southeast Alaska.
SEARHC seeks 'Just Move It' community partners 070109 HEALTH 1 For the CCW SITKA - The SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) Health Promotion, Diabetes and Lifestyle Balance programs is looking for community partners for "Just Move It" activities on Saturday, Oct. 10, in several communities throughout Southeast Alaska.
Wednesday, July 01, 2009

Story last updated at 7/1/2009 - 11:57 am

SEARHC seeks 'Just Move It' community partners

SITKA - The SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium (SEARHC) Health Promotion, Diabetes and Lifestyle Balance programs is looking for community partners for "Just Move It" activities on Saturday, Oct. 10, in several communities throughout Southeast Alaska.

A variety of community activities will take place in Haines/Klukwan, Juneau, Angoon, Kake, Sitka, Hydaburg and Klawock/Craig/Prince of Wales Island, and they are part of the national "Just Move It" campaign to promote healthy physical activity for American Indians and Alaska Natives.

By hosting the events on Oct. 10, organizers are planning the activities to tie in with the Alaska Native Brotherhood/Alaska Native Sisterhood Grand Camp meetings taking place that week in Juneau. Most of the community activities on Oct. 10 will be walking events.

The Just Move It activities also serve as an early preview of American Diabetes Month in November, which brings awareness to a disease having a growing impact on Alaska Natives and American Indians. Alaska Natives and American Indians have some of the highest rates of diabetes for any ethnic group in the United States, and recent research shows that more than half of the cases of Type 2 diabetes can be prevented through increased physical activity and healthy eating habits.

"Many of my friends and family, like other First Nations people, have struggled with diabetes," said Renae Mathson, a SEARHC Diabetes Health Educator. "We now know Type 2 diabetes can be controlled by lifestyle choices and physical activity can help reduce a person's risk for diabetes. We have chosen to participate in the 'Just Move It' national campaign to get 1 million American Indian and Alaska Natives physically active. We are hosting our events as a preview to American Diabetes Month so we can bring awareness to the fact that 30 minutes of fun, physical activity each day helps reduce the risk of many chronic diseases, including diabetes."

The local event coordinators for community partners to contact are as follows:

Angoon - Doreen McCluskey at doreen.mccluskey@searhc.org. or 788-4637.

Haines/Klukwan - Mandy Ramsey at 766-6317 or mandy.ramsey@searhc.org.

Hydaburg - Tony Stevens at tony.stevens@searhc.org or 285-3462.

Juneau - Rocky Plotnick at rocky.plotnick@searhc.org or 364-4452.

Kake - Georgie Reese at georgie.reese@searhc.org or 785-3260.

Klawock/Craig/POW - June May at june.may@searhc.org or 755-4959.

Sitka - Renae Mathson at renae.mathson@searhc.org or 966-879 , or Erin Rofkar at 966-8799 or erin.rofkar@searhc.org.


Loading...