PUBLISHED: 5:43 PM on Wednesday, May 14, 2008
Palin announces board appointments
Gov. Sarah Palin announced appointments to the Board of Directors of the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation, Board of Barbers and Hairdressers, Alaska Public Offices Commission and the Alaska Commercial Fishing and Agricultural Bank.

Palin appointed Jyotsna "Jo" Heckman to the Board of Directors of the Alaska Housing Finance Corporation (AHFC). The seven-member AHFC assists in providing decent, safe and sanitary housing by providing mortgage loan financing; acts as the principal source of residential financing in the State and functions as a secondary mortgage market; and, under federal programs, operates the State's public housing and subsidizes rents. It consists of four members appointed by the governor and the commissioners of Revenue, Commerce, and Health and Social Services.

Palin appointed Carol Hernley and reappointed Debra Long to the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. The seven-member board regulates and controls applications, licenses and permits of barbers, hairdressers, cosmetologists, tattoo artists, body piercers and permanent cosmetic colorists.

Palin appointed Kate Ballenger to the Alaska Public Offices Commission (APOC). Ballenger fills the remainder of a term left vacant when Claire Hall resigned earlier this year. The five-member APOC administers laws upholding the public's right to know the financial affairs of candidates, public officials, and lobbyists and their employers at the State and municipal level; adopts regulations, issues formal advisory opinions, and recommends legislative changes; adjudicates requests to reduce civil penalties assessed by staff for late filing of disclosure reports, assesses penalties for substantial noncompliance with reporting requirements, and recommends removal from the ballot or office in accordance with law; and adjudicates complaints through approval of settlements, civil penalty assessments and public hearings under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Chris McDowell, of Juneau, was to the Alaska Commercial Fishing and Agricultural Bank Board of Directors (CFAB). The governor appoints two of the seven-member CFAB, which manages the assets of and selects officers to the bank. CFAB was created to address limitations to the access to credit by resident Alaska commercial seafood harvesters, processors and farmers. In 2000, CFAB's statute was amended to expand its lending authority to include tourism- and resource-based industries.