PUBLISHED: 5:40 PM on Wednesday, May 14, 2008
Stepansky elected president of Southeast Alaska Tourism Council
HAINES - The Southeast Alaska Tourism Council (SATC) board elected Haines Tourism Director Lori Stepansky president at the board retreat in Sitka on April 14-15. The tourism council, which cooperatively markets the Inside Passage as a visitor destination, is comprised of the convention and visitor bureau directors from Juneau, Skagway, Ketchikan, Sitka, Wrangell, Haines, and Whitehorse, Yukon Territory. Other officers elected were Carol Rushmore of Wrangell as VP of Marketing and Lorene Palmer of Juneau as VP of Finance.Patti Mackey of the Ketchikan Visitors Bureau, who held the president's seat for 10 years, has passed the torch to Stepansky to pursue the newly revitalized goals of SATC.

Council board members will first focus the organization's attention on fine-tuning the web site, which already successfully drives visitor inquiries for information to the participating communities. Another priority is to broaden the board and increase participation by other southeast communities by offering tiered levels of benefits. The board is exploring options for a collateral map piece, co-op advertising, and consumer trade shows to successfully raise the awareness of the region's attractiveness to independent and group travelers.