PUBLISHED: 1:42 PM on Wednesday, April 13, 2005
Alaska's 'Reading Rainbow' winners receive awards

Young authors and illustrators ages 5 - 9 recently participated in the 11th Annual Young Writers and Illustrators contest. Sponsored by local public television station KTOO-TV in cooperation with nationally acclaimed PBS children's series "Reading Rainbow," the contest encourages children from kindergarten through third grade to write and illustrate their own stories.

Judges were two noted local authors of children's books, Jean Rogers and Susie Gregg Fowler, and well-known artist and illustrator, Jim Fowler.

"Alaska One TV is very enthusiastic when we have the opportunity to reach out to Alaska's children" says KTOO President and General Manager, Bill Legere.

At a ceremony and reception held at KTOO in downtown Juneau, First Lady of Alaska Nancy Murkowski personally presented the winners with ribbons and certificates of achievement signed by "Reading Rainbow" host Levar Burton, along with prizes donated by Hearthside books and various public television stations.

Alaska Winners

Kindergarten: 1) Greyson Delzer, Fairbanks 2) Ilan Horesh, Bethel 3) Lauren Deal, Sitka.

First Grade: 1) Shelby Mandes, Sitka 2) Mollie Korngiebel, Sitka Honorable Mention: Gianna McKenzie and Miguel Garcia, Sitka.

Second Grade: 1) McKenna Lesmann, Juneau 2) Maire New, Juneau 3) Diuga Horesh, Bethel.

Third Grade: 1) Molly Sanders, Juneau 2) Maxwell Delzer, Fairbanks 3) Kiana Ford, Juneau. Honorable Mention: Heather Abrams, Juneau.

The First Prize winners advance to the national competition. National winners will be announced in June.