PUBLISHED: 4:54 PM on Wednesday, March 12, 2008
New poems for Juneau buses
The winning poems from the recent Poetry OmniBus competition have been selected and will start appearing inside Capital Transit System buses after mid-March.

Congratulations to all the Juneau residents who entered the competition, but especially to the authors of the winning poems: sixteen Juneau youths and fourteen Juneau adults. These writers have been invited to read their winning poems Saturday evening, March 15, at Juneau's main library, downtown. A reception will begin at 6:45 p.m., and the readings will begin at 7:00 p.m. The public is invited.

In the youth category (grades 5 through 12), authors of winning poems are Tracy Ralston, Cate Ross, Megan Wright, Anastasia Hobson-George, Dylan Taylor, Hannah Orren, Lauren Rabago, Savanna Schauwecker, Taylor Flannagan, Zach Schauwecker, Hailey Pusich, Austin Tagaban, Tyler Housewart, Scott Funk, Rachel Sielbach, and Wil Linford.

Adults whose poems were selected include Aleria Jensen (two poems), Christina Apaathy, Nikki Morris, Bob Fagen, Nick Nixon, Nina Chordas, Helena Fagan, Emily Wall, Richard Stokes (two poems), Brenna McLaughlin, Margo Waring, Gerald Adams, Lauren Swift, and Shoshannah Seligman.