Skagway
web-posted Wednesday, April 12, 2017
To Kill a Mockingbird, Wednesday, April 12, Thursday, April 13, Friday, April 14, Saturday, April 15, 7:30-9:30 p.m., Sunday, April 16, 4-6 p.m., Perseverance Theatre.
web-posted Wednesday, March 29, 2017
It was birds that first brought Alaska Folk Fest performers Art Johns and Nola Lamken together. Lamken, who lives in Skagway, was on her way up to Faro in 2004 to see the migration of sandhill cranes.
web-posted Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Juneau singer, songwriter and musician Guy “Buddy” Tabor died five years ago, but this year, Alaska Folk Festival goers will be able to hear his original songs once again.
web-posted Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Here’s a name frequently seen in connection with music events around town, from the Juneau Cabaret to The Orpheus Project’s recent “Westside Story”: Taylor Vidic.
web-posted Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Courtesy of the Alaska Folk Festival, here's the schedule through Wednesday, April 5, when the next Capital City Weekly comes out.
web-posted Wednesday, March 22, 2017
The Klondike Gold Rush is above all a story about people — so here is a story about a world famous journalist, you have probably never heard of, his bride, and a snapshot.
web-posted Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Spring typically signals the beginning of new life after a long a winter – however, in 1903 in Sitka, it signaled the end of one man’s life.
web-posted Wednesday, February 22, 2017
The only way we will ever get over this culture of hate is by understanding others and our shared history. Understand what it is like walking in each other’s shoes and to remember that discrimination can happen to us all.
web-posted Wednesday, February 15, 2017
The winners of the Juneau Arts & Humanities Council’s 2017 Wearable Art Extravaganza, themed “Renaissance!” are pieces by artists Lauralye Miko, Michelle Morris, and Angela Ecklund.
web-posted Wednesday, February 8, 2017
The first meeting of Sealaska Heritage Institute’s Southeast Regional Language Committee began late January with traditional introductions by the committee’s three members: Lance Twitchell, who spoke in Lingít (Tlingit language), Gavin Hudson, who spoke in Sm’algyax (Tsimshian language), and Benjamin Young, who spoke in Xaad Kíl (Haida language). Hearing the three young men express themselves in Southeast Alaska’s indigenous languages was an uplifting way to begin, said SHI President Rosita Worl.
web-posted Wednesday, February 8, 2017
It might come as a surprise to Northerners that Donald Trump’s grandfather made his first fortune “mining miners” during the Klondike gold rush in Bennett, British Columbia and Whitehorse, Yukon.
web-posted Wednesday, January 25, 2017
Over the last 40 years, Robert Banghart has come to know Alaska, and many of its small communities, quite well.
web-posted Wednesday, January 18, 2017
By Robert Winfree
web-posted Wednesday, January 11, 2017
In the early morning hours of Sunday, April 3, 1898, the first of a series of snow slides struck the Chilkoot Trail. The trail was one of the main routes to the Klondike gold fields during the great gold rush of 1897-1898.