Kake
web-posted Wednesday, September 28, 2016
Hydaburg votes on name spelling change; Petersburg, Coffman Cove vote on marijuana
web-posted Wednesday, September 21, 2016
KETCHIKAN — Due to the fiscal crisis, the Department of Health and Social Services made the decision to shut down the Ketchikan Regional Facility last month, closing the facility on Sept. 15.
web-posted Wednesday, September 7, 2016
College to offer credit for real-life experiences.
web-posted Wednesday, August 3, 2016
First Friday Art Walk, Friday, Aug. 5, various locations around Juneau and Haines.
web-posted Wednesday, August 3, 2016
During week-long retreat, participants sang, played games and told stories in Lingít.
web-posted Wednesday, August 3, 2016
The Chicken Show Sketch Studio 122 Front Street Reception: 4 - 7 p.m. Fumi Matsumoto and MK MacNaughton will show ink prints on tea bags, oil paintings on canvas, tin can ornaments and hand-painted t-shirts celebrating our chicken neighbors. There will be pecking food and drinks. Go to www.mkmacnaughton.com for more information.
web-posted Wednesday, July 27, 2016
Police blotter booksigning, Friday, July 29, 4-6 p.m., downtown Hearthside Books. David Sexton and Jeff Brady, authors of volumes one and two of “Best of the Skagway, Alaska Police Blotter,” will be in Juneau for a booksigning. For an article about the quirky books, which highlight the best of Skagway’s “crime,” crime, and overheard tourists, go to http://bit.ly/29n1xNr.
web-posted Wednesday, July 20, 2016
Gordie Tentrees, Friday, July 22, 9-11 p.m., Alaskan Hotel. Tentrees, a top ten folk/roots artist in North America for April-May 2016, will perform.
web-posted Wednesday, July 13, 2016
Live Blues Show, Saturday, July 16, 10 p.m., McGivney’s Valley location. Andy Koch’s Badd Dog Blues will perform. Koch lives in Bellingham and is working with local musicians on his tenth tour of Southeast Alaska.
web-posted Wednesday, July 6, 2016
Playboy Spaceman release party, Saturday, July 9, Rockwell Ballroom, 9 p.m. Liz Snyder and Patrick Troll of Whiskey Class open.
web-posted Wednesday, June 22, 2016
We were at the Fish House in Ketchikan early in April, talking about climate; the room was full and the conversation was lively. Outside, the berries were blooming and the snow was gone.
web-posted Wednesday, June 15, 2016
There’s a great deal of doubt involved in matching historic Native jewelers with their creations, even in cases that seem straightforward like that of a silver snuffbox owned by Rudolph Walton and emblazoned with his initials.