Gustavus
web-posted Wednesday, July 1, 2015
JUNEAU and DOUGLAS
web-posted Wednesday, June 17, 2015
The Salmon Project recently announced the winners of its annual Salmon Haiku Contest, a statewide competition that encourages participants to express their enthusiasm for and understanding of salmon habitat in Alaska. Three adult poets and three student poets were selected to win prizes in the contest, which ran May 1 - 15.
web-posted Wednesday, June 3, 2015
web-posted Wednesday, May 27, 2015
The Juneau Arts & Humanities Council has announced the 26 accepted submissions to the 2015 JAHC Juried Art Show.
web-posted Wednesday, May 20, 2015
THEATER
web-posted Wednesday, April 29, 2015
THEATER
web-posted Wednesday, April 22, 2015
“From the moment I first saw her work, I was impressed by her lively, colorful figures and her obvious appreciation for the everyday scenes of life in Alaska.
web-posted Wednesday, April 15, 2015
The Mendenhall Flying Lions Club will be participating in the Gustavus Community Health Fair at the Gustavus School on Saturday, April 18, from 8 a.m. to 12:00 noon, providing free vision screening to children age six months to 25. This vision screening is designed to improve the chances of detecting early eye problems. The community is encouraged to bring their children to the health fair for this free screening.
web-posted Wednesday, April 1, 2015
Banjos, guitars, mandolins, voices: the 41st annual Alaska Folk Festival starts Monday, April 6, and for the next week there won't be many in Juneau who spend a day without tapping their feet or just getting up and dancing - or, of course, performing.
web-posted Wednesday, March 11, 2015
Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center's Fireside Lecture on Friday, March 13 addresses new research on bats, our only flying mammal. Alaska Department of Fish and Game biologists Karen Blejwas and Michael Kohan will explain the impacts of White-Nose Syndrome and how Little Brown Bats in Alaska and the western U.S. may escape the deadly disease.

Loading...